Snow Leopard Challenge Map And List

The Snow Leopard Award is a Soviet mountaineering award that is earned by climbing all five 7000 meter peaks in the former Soviet Union. To complete the Snow Leopard Challenge, a climber must summit all five remote peaks, which are located in the Pamir Mountains of Tajikistan and the Tian Shan in Kyrgyzstan and Kazakhstan

Snow Leopard | Pixabay Image
Snow Leopard | Pixabay Image

This mountain award was established on October 12, 1967 by the Russian government. Since then, hundreds of people have climbed all of the Snow Leopard peaks. The only real change is that several of the peaks have switched names. For more information and history of the Snow Leopard Challenge, visit

To learn about the difficulty, costs, routes, organizers, and other logistics of the Snow Leopards, is a good resource.

All of these Snow Leopard peaks are located in two mountain ranges:

  • Tian Shan – 2
  • Pamir Mountains – 3

Snow Leopard Challenge Map:

Filter by

(The pinpoints may not be 100% accurate)

Snow Leopard Challenge List:

RankPeakElevation MetersElevation FeetRangeCountry 
1Ismoil Somoni Peak / Communism Peak749524950Pamir MountainsTajikistan
2Jengish Chokusu / Peak Pobeda)743924406Tian ShanKyrgyzstan/China
3Ibn Sina Peak / Lenin Peak713423406Pamir MountainsTajikistan
4Peak Korzhenevskaya710523310Pamir MountainsTajikistan
5Khan Tengri7010 with glacier cap/ 6995 geologic elevation22999Tian ShanKyrgyzstan-Kazakhstan

Snow Leopard Award Records

  • According to, during the summer of 2016 Andzej Bargiel of Poland completed all 5 ascents in 29 days 17 hours 5 minutes.
  • has a list of mountaineers who have climbed all of the Snow Leopard Peaks. Visit that site for the most up-to-date list of award winners.

Do you have what it takes to earn the coveted Snow Leopard Award? Have you climbed any of the Snow Leopard Peaks? Tell us in the comments below.

Discover More Mountain Projects With Lists And Maps For PeakBaggers